Counseling

Location

Building 30, Upper Concourse, Room 243
Phone: (509) 533-3525

Mission

The mission of the Counseling Department is to empower individuals to identify, pursue, and complete educational and personal objectives appropriate to their career and lifetime goals.

Services

Destination Eastern

Workshops

Getting Started at SFCC

  • I'm interested in attending your college and don't know
  • I want to start college but I'm would be best for me.
  • How do I know what books to purchase? When can I
  • I don't know what
  • I'm not sure how to
  • When is the last day to receive a refund?
  • When is my due?
  • Does your college have
  • Can I while attending SFCC?

About Our Programs and Classes

  • Where can get I get a copy of the
  • I'd like a copy of your
  • What type of do you offer?
  • I'm interested in the program. Who do I contact?
  • I'm interested in the program. Who do I contact?
  • I need information on
  • I'd like to know more about the
  • I need information about

Special Needs Services and Programs

  • What type of support do you offer
  • I'm a who's interested in attending college.
  • I'm a and have recently experienced changes in my life that now require me to work.
  • I'm a and would like information on attending your college.
  • Do you offer to students attending your college?

Financing Your Education

  • I'm looking for information on
  • Where can I find out about opportunities for students?
  • I need help with filling out my forms.

Grades and Graduation

  • How do I get
  • I think I have What do I do now?

The following resources are available in the Career & Student Employment Center:

Transfer Advisors

Eastern Washington, Washington State, Gonzaga, Whitworth, and Washington Governors University admissions representatives and faculty from various departments are available by appointment on a scheduled basis from September to June. Schedule an appointment for transfer advising.

Applications

We have applications for all Washington Universities, many regional private colleges, as well as community colleges and technical schools.

College Transfer Guides

You might want to pick up a transfer guide to any of the four-year colleges in Washington.

Eastern Washington University
  https://eaglenet.ewu.edu/PROD-DAD/ewudarsxgd.p_lookup_sbgi_code
University of Washington
  https://admit.washington.edu/Admission/Transfer
Washington State University
  http://admission.wsu.edu/transfer
Western Washington University
  http://admissions.wwu.edu/transfer
Washington Governors University
  http://washington.wgu.edu/community_colleges
Links to other four-year colleges and universities in Washington can be found on the Counseling web site.

College Catalogs

College catalogs for Washington state, the United States and International Colleges and Universities. Listed alphabetically and geographically.


Washington State Catalogs
  Workforce Training and Education Coordinating Board: "Where Are You Going?"
  http://www.wtb.wa.gov/Pubs/2005_Pubs_cg2005.pdf

National College Catalogs
  American Universities:
  http://www.clas.ufl.edu/CLAS/american-universities.html
  Community Colleges:
  http://www.mcli.dist.maricopa.edu/cc/search.html

General Education Online
  Web directory of links to over 6,400 higher educational facilities around the world.
  http://www.findaschool.org/

Community and Technical Colleges

Discover your career interests, explore your education options and find the Washington state community or technical college that best meets your goals.

  http://www.CheckOutACollege.com

Contact information is listed below. Select the e-mail link to send an e-mail. For general program information, contact the office information phone number.

Counseling

Office Information - (509) 533-3525
Web Faculty/Staff Phone Office Email
  Havko, Cindy; Counselor (509) 533-3202 30-229 Cindy.Havko@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Medina, Brittney; Office Assistant (509) 533-3525 30-243 Brittney.Medina@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Osei, Denise; Counselor (509) 533-3219 17-162 Denise.Osei@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Pemberton, Loren; Co-Chair (509) 533-3503 30-227 Loren.Pemberton@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Pluid, Roy; Office Assistant (509) 533-3138 30-243 Roy.Pluid@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Poortinga, Ryan; Counselor (509) 533-3530 30-228 Ryan.Poortinga@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Schoen, Beverly; Counselor (509) 533-3203 30-230 Beverly.Schoen@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Vigil, Cynthia; Running Start Coordinator and Counselor (509) 533-3405 30-231 Cynthia.Vigil@sfcc.spokane.edu
Powered by Active Directory

Disability Support Services

Office Information - (509) 533-4166
Web Faculty/Staff Phone Office Email
  Birkett, Sheryl; Program Support Supervisor H.I. (509) 533-3543 17-201C Sheryl.Birkett@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Breneman, Marti (509) 533-3544 17-201 Marti.Breneman@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Dvojack, Nancy (509) 533-4166 17-201 Nancy.Dvojack@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Merritt, Angela (509) 533-3437 17-202 Angela.Merritt@sfcc.spokane.edu
Powered by Active Directory

Multicultural Center

Office Information - (509) 533-4331
Web Faculty/Staff Phone Office Email
  Austin, Pam (509) 533-3546 17-126 Pam.Austin@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Gong, Jane (509) 533-4331 17-131 Jane.Gong@sfcc.spokane.edu
Powered by Active Directory

Multicultural Transitions

Office Information - (509) 533-3768
Web Faculty/Staff Phone Office Email
  January, Kiara (509) 533-3768 17-162 Kiara.January@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Osei, Denise; Counselor (509) 533-3219 17-162 Denise.Osei@sfcc.spokane.edu
Powered by Active Directory

Running Start Program

Office Information - (509) 533-3435
Web Faculty/Staff Phone Office Email
  Buckingham, Jade; Running Start Program Assistant (509) 533-3435 17-150 Jade.Buckingham@sfcc.spokane.edu
  DeGon, Jennifer; Running Start Program Assistant (509) 533-3196 17-150 Jennifer.DeGon@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Hahto, Barb; Running Start Coordinator and Counselor (509) 533-3524 17-150 Barb.Hahto@sfcc.spokane.edu
Powered by Active Directory