Social Science Department

Mission Statement

The Social Science Department supports the college mission by offering liberal arts/college transfer courses. The following list of department goals explains how the department sees its role in the institution’s educational program:

  • To provide freshman and sophomore level transfer courses in the social sciences to students with a wide variety of academic backgrounds and expectations
  • To foster in students the ability to critically read college level interpretations of historical and contemporary societies in the western and non-western world.
  • To give students knowledge of the nature of social science methodology and an appreciation of its strengths and limitations as an instrument of analysis.
  • To assist students to develop subtle judgments about inherently complex issues and to present that understanding in effective writing.
  • To help students understand themselves and others better so they can problem solve successfully and be more fulfilled.
  • To serve as a resource to others.

Contact information is listed below. Select the email link to send an email. For general program information, contact the administrative assistant. The globe icon Globe Icon identifies faculty web sites. Click the globe to visit the site.

Web Faculty/Staff Phone Office Email
Service Learning in England Amend, Dexter; Instructor (509) 533-3587 024-0245 Dexter.Amend@sfcc.spokane.edu
Introduction to Psychology 101 Developmental Psychology Andreasson, Karl; Instructor (509) 533-3613 024-0347 Karl.Andreasson@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Glaze, Erin; Instructor (509) 533-3583 024-0344 Erin.Glaze@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Husein, Tiffany; Instructor (509) 533-3469/7168 024-0345 Tiffany.Husein@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Kratzer, Mike; Instructor (509) 533-3467 024-0344 Mike.Kratzer@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Levengood, Mark; Instructor (509) 533-3586 024-0348 Mark.Levengood@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Martin, Sarah; Instructor (509) 533-3461 024-0250 Sarah.Martin@sfcc.spokane.edu
  McCormick, Cameron; Instructor (509) 533-3629 024-0252 Cameron.McCormick@sfcc.spokane.edu
History 117 History 136 Online Montgomery, Nicole; Instructor (509) 533-3470 024-0346 Nicole.Montgomery@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Pearl, David (509) 533-3513 024-0340 David.Pearl@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Pelham, Sabra; Instructor (509) 533-3463 024-0248 Sabra.Pelham@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Stenzel, Monica; Instructor (509) 533-3467 024-0344 Monica.Stenzel@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Suttle, George; History Instructor (509) 533-3454 024-0126 George.Suttle@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Taylor, Kim; Instructor (509) 533-3465 024-0342 Kim.Taylor@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Tollefsbol, Elizabeth; Instructor (509) 533-3469 024-0345 Elizabeth.Tollefsbol@sfcc.spokane.edu
Digital Recordings of Presentations for Outcomes 101 Tucker, Teri; Instructor (509) 533-3458 024-0243 Teri.Tucker@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Youmans, Vance; Instructor (Department Chair) (509) 533-3577 024-0350 Vance.Youmans@sfcc.spokane.edu
Powered by Active Directory


Contact information is listed below. Select the email link to send an email. For general program information, contact the administrative assistant. The globe icon Globe Icon identifies faculty web sites. Click the globe to visit the site.