SFCC

Physical Education Department

Interested in the Health/Fitness Technician Program?

Mission Statement

The general philosophy at Washington community colleges is that student activities are an essential part of the educational system, and that physical education, recreation, and intercollegiate athletics should be included in academic programs offered in the community college setting.

Physical education, recreation, intramural, and intercollegiate athletics are an integral part of the educational goals at the Community Colleges of Spokane. Physical health, wellness, and physical fitness are an important and meaningful part of a student's total educational experience.

Physical health and well-being are directly related to the academic growth and success of each student. Physical Education shares the responsibility with other college disciplines to help students develop positive intellectual, emotional, and social skills.

Basic Objectives of Athletics, Physical Education, Recreation and Intramurals

To promote physical fitness and healthy lifestyles through activities that develop strength, muscle endurance, flexibility, and cardio-vascular endurance.

To promote development of lifelong skills and activities through worthwhile use of recreational and leisure time.

To provide opportunities for development of social competencies and human relations. This will include leadership skills, ability to work well with others, teamwork cooperation, tolerance, competition, ability to make decisions, and recognition of the fundamental worth of each individual.

To promote proper health and lifestyle choices that will enable the individual to live a productive and balanced life. These "Wellness concepts" will serve as lifelong guidelines for an individual's total social, emotional, and physical well-being.

To provide a variety of opportunities for individual participation in competitive sports. Intercollegiate athletic teams exist as a means of providing programs to supplement the educational process by offering educational, social, cultural, and recreational activities for students.

For a list of all Community Colleges of Spokane PE Faculty visit the CCS Athletics web site.

Contact information is listed below. Click on the email link to send an email. For general program information, contact the administrative assistant. The globe icon Globe Icon identifies faculty web sites. Click the globe to visit the site.

Web Faculty/Staff Phone Office Email
  Bodecker, Ryan; Sports Equipment Manager (509) 533-3633 7-gym-120 Ryan.Bodecker@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Brown, Chad; Instructor (509) 533-3133 13-113 Chad.Brown@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Crandall, Paco; Instructor (509) 533-3638 7-106I Paco.Crandall@sfcc.spokane.edu
First Aid Duke, Phoebe; Instructor (509) 533-3640 7-106J Phoebe.Duke@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Dyksterhuis, Carol; Instructor (509) 533-3636 13-114 Carol.Dyksterhuis@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Hamer, Nick (509) 533-3133 13-113 Nick.Hamer@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Harmon, Brandon; Instructor (509) 533-3639 7-106 Brandon.Harmon@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Harshman, John; Instructor (509) 533-4105 7-106L John.Harshman@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Hull, Jenni; Instructor (509) 533-3763 7-106F Jenni.Hull@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Johnson, Bruce; Instructor (Department Chair) (509) 533-3647 7-106L Bruce.Johnson@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Keller, Dave; Instructor (509) 533-3390 13-111 Dave.Keller@sfcc.spokane.edu
First Aid Stress Management
Krestian, Kenny; Instructor (509) 533-3419 13-103D Kenny.Krestian@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Lee, Bobby; Assoc Dean/Asst. Athletic Director (509) 533-3644 7-103A Bobby.Lee@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Matlock, Irene; Instructor (509) 533-3635 7-109B Irene.Matlock@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Munsey, Ashlee (509) 533-3647 7-106H Ashlee.Munsey@Spokanefalls.edu
  Proszek, AJ; Instructor (509) 533-3639 7-106 AJ.Proszek@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Skaife, Janet; Instructor (509) 533-3638 7-106I Janet.Skaife@sfcc.spokane.edu
Health and Wellness Telecourse Snyder, Keith; Instructor (509) 533-3648 7-106K Keith.Snyder@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Sonderland, Brandy; Instructor (509) 533-4106 7-109A Brandy.Sonderland@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Srock, Jeff (509) 533-3133 13-103D Jeff.Srock@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Staudinger, Sheri; Instructor (509) 533-3816 7-109D Sheri.Staudinger@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Tikker, Kelli; Instructor (509) 533-3637 7-109A Kelli.Tikker@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Walter, Rick; Instructor (509) 533-3647 7-109A Rick.Walter@sfcc.spokane.edu
Anatomical Kinesiology Biomechanics
Exercise and the Cardiovascular System Exercise Physiology
Health Appraisal  Nutrition for Fitness
Personal Training Principles of Strength
Special Considerations in Exercise
Warner, Travis; Instructor (509) 533-4105 7-106L Travis.Warner@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Winston, Bryan; Instructor (509) 533-3639 7-111 Bryan.Winston@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Wood, Stephani; Instructor (509) 533-3638 7-106-I Stephani.Wood@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Zacher, Nancy; Administrative Assistant (509) 533-3630 7-102 Nancy.Zacher@sfcc.spokane.edu
Powered by Active Directory

CCS Directory

  Ken Burrus, Athletic Director (509) 533-7220 7-101a kburrus@ccs.spokane.edu

Click on the course title to view course description.

Health Course Listing

Class Credits

P.E. Course Listing

Class Credits