SFCC

Fine Arts

The Art Department offers a strong foundation in the visual arts. You'll begin with classes in drawing, design, art history and appreciation. Then you'll develop your painting, drawing and sculpture skills. Many specialized classes are available including printmaking (silkscreen, intaglio, and lithography), watercolor, acrylic and oil painting, figure and experimental drawing, sculpture (including welding and bronze casting), jewelry, ceramics, mixed media and installation art. The classes you choose will depend on your interests and the program option you select.

Visit the Fine Arts Student webpage for more information on our programs.

Our art facilities include:

  • A ceramics studio with throwing wheels and various kilns.
  • A foundry and sculpture studio used for working in both metals and wood.
  • A printmaking studio including a darkroom.
  • Studios for drawing, painting and design.
  • Two lecture classrooms for art history / survey courses.
  • A professional art gallery.

Visit the Fine Arts Faculty webpage for more information on our faculty, and to see images of their art.

  • A ceramics studio with throwing wheels and various kilns.
  • A foundry and sculpture studio used for working in both metals and wood.
  • A printmaking studio including a darkroom.
  • Studios for drawing, painting and design.
  • Two lecture classrooms for art history / survey courses.
  • A professional art gallery.
Visit the Fine Arts Gallery webpage for more information about exhibitions and lectures and to see images from current and past exhibitions and lectures.

Visit the Fine Arts Facebook webpage for more information about current department happenings, student art, and art-related information.
All course offerings are subject to change. The college cannot guarantee class offerings, designated times or specific instructors - as funding levels and student interest may affect whether or not an offering is available.

For additional program details, view the Art Pre-Major Career Guide, the Associate of Fine Arts Career Guide or the Certificate of Fine Arts Career Guide.

Click on the course title to view course description.

Class Credits

Contact information is listed below. Select the email link to send an email. For general program information, contact the administrative assistant. The globe icon Globe Icon identifies faculty web sites. Click the globe to visit the site.

For more information about faculty and to see images of their art, Visit the Fine Arts Faculty webpage.

Web Faculty/Staff Phone Office Email
  Allen, Benjamin; Staff (Fine Arts) (509) 533-3710 6-101 Benjamin.Allen@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Ayars, Lee; Fine Arts Instructor (509) 533-3712 6-123 Lee.Ayars@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Canfield, Chuck; Instructional Tech (Fine Arts) (509) 533-4412 6-116 Chuck.Canfield@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Casstevens, Margot; Instructor (509) 533-3705 6-105 Margot.Casstevens@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Churchill, Ethan; Instructional Tech (Fine Arts) (509) 533-4412 6-137 Ethan.Churchill@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Gonzales, Anna; Senior Secretary (Fine Arts) (509) 533-3710 6-101 Anna.Gonzales@sfcc.spokane.edu
Acrylic Painting Drawing 101
Learning Community:  Old Stones, New Threads Non-Western Art
Non-Western Art:  China
Haag, Patty; Fine Arts Instructor (509) 533-3713 6-106 Patty.Haag@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Harvey, Tobe; Fine Arts Instructor (509) 533-3712 6-123 Tobe.Harvey@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Hough, Jamie; Staff (Fine Arts) (509) 533-3710 6-101 Jamie.Hough@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Jagoda, Peter; Fine Arts Instructor (509) 533-3036 6-114 Peter.Jagoda@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Lopez Schindler, Lenora; Fine Arts Instructor (509) 533-3037 6-119 Lenora.LopezSchindler@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Madison, Kurt; Fine Arts Instructor (509) 533-3705 6-105 Kurt.Madison@sfcc.spokane.edu
Intro. to Art Study Slides Martens, Megan; Fine Arts Instructor (509) 533-3706 6-103 Megan.Martens@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Nenno, Mardis; Fine Arts Instructor (509) 533-4412 6-137 Mardis.Nenno@sfcc.spokane.edu
  O'Day, Thomas; Fine Arts Instructor (509) 533-3746 6-135 Thomas.ODay@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Palmer, Emma; Staff (Fine Arts) (509) 533-3710 6-101 Emma.Palmer@sfcc.spokane.edu
Art Intro to Art
Richardson, Carl; Fine Arts Instructor (509) 533-3714 6-136 Carl.Richardson@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Simonsen, Garric; Fine Arts Instructor (509) 533-3707 6-104 Garric.Simonsen@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Skubinna, Bradd; Fine Arts Instructor (509) 533-3035 6-124 Bradd.Skubinna@sfcc.spokane.edu
  Stephens, Carolyn; Fine Arts Instructor (Department Chair) (509) 533-3424 6-122 Carolyn.Stephens@sfcc.spokane.edu
3D Design Vielbig, Bernadette; Fine Arts Instructor (509) 533-3716 6-102 Bernadette.Vielbig@sfcc.spokane.edu
Fundamental Drawing Introduction to Art
Wilson, Cyndy; Fine Arts Instructor (509) 533-3709 6-125 Cyndy.Wilson@sfcc.spokane.edu
Powered by Active Directory

Contact information is listed below. Select the email link to send an email. For general program information, contact the administrative assistant. The globe icon Globe Icon identifies faculty web sites. Click the globe to visit the site.

For more information about faculty and to see images of their art, Visit the Fine Arts Faculty webpage.